College Etiquette for Students

I work at a small university. The students are usually pretty nice, but I think there are perhaps a few areas they cold use some schooling in. I’ll cover a few at a time. I know they have other things that they need to study right now, so I’ll hit a few tidbits across a few posts so it can be absorbed in small chunks.

1. Since we’re speaking of chunks…If you feel the need to ‘deliver street pizza’ (AKA ralph, barf, technicolor yawn, etc.) after a long night of bingeing and there’s a choice between grass or the sidewalk, always choose the grass. I don’t need to see what you were eating last night people. A little consideration goes a long way here. and yick by the way.

2. If you feel the need to talk on the cell phone as we step into the elevator, don’t glare at me when I join in on the conversation. It’s a public area and if you’re going to be nattering away, so am I. Don’t expect me to stare politely at the doors while you annoy the living shit out of me.

3. Don’t send me copies of your spam. Yes, I know what it looks like. Hell, I even get some myself sometimes. We can’t catch it all but we try. If you keep sending me your spam after I explain all this to you, I know a guy (me) who can put the freaking kibosh to your ability to correspond with anyone.

There. That shouldn’t tax you too much for now. Go, enjoy the semester and do well.

Side note: I’ll be migrating my blog to here since I’ve figured out the three column thing in blogger. I’ll double post for a while so people like Ellie can strategically plan the bookmark change. I know it’s rough, but I understand your pain and I’m here to help.

 

3 Responses

  1. Thank you. Thank you for all it is you do do. I’ll get working on that strategic plan. And I am *so* going to start joining in on conversations with people talking on their cell phones.

  2. Please don’t call me a troll for commenting this way, but I just checked out your new and improved site and OMG, the red text on the black background in your side note notes just about blinded me. I’m blinking technicolor on your sidewalk!!!

  3. Hmmm…point noted about the side note. It comes across as a non-invasive maroon for me, but I think it’s important to take monitor differences into account. It’s not trolling at all if it’s helpful. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

