Dual Standards

This isn’t your typical dual standard I’m talking about. It’s the “I’ll act this way for daddy, but watch out when mommy enters the scene” dual standard.

For some reason, my son acts wonderfully (nigh perfectly I might venture) when it’s just me and him. When the mom walks in though, he gets all whiny and clingy and crap. Does anyone else have this going on?  I know it’s not pleasant for her but it drives me batty. A kind of “I wonder if the wiffle bat leaves marks?” batty. Sometimes he just gets to the point where he won’t listen at all. This of course leads to the ‘time out’ which doesn’t work since he’s so fucking stubborn wonderfully headstrong. Then that leads to the wailing and gnashing of teeth.

I know, it’s ‘Momma’s Boy’ syndrome isn’t it? Tell me it ain’t so. It’s okay, I can take it. Now how do I break him the behavior? I’m pretty sure the “I’d like the angelic behavior all the time” speech won’t work. Actually, it will provided a) The Mom isn’t in the room and b) she never, ever comes back into the room.

Sigh, I guess that’s a bit much to ask, so I had better come up with another game plan. Any pointers readers?

Technorati Tags: ,,
4 Responses

  1. I don’t have a boy, but the dynamic between mom/boy and dad/boy is different I would say having once been a son. I bet when he gets a little older he will not want to act so clingy of mom – and thus risk looking uncool – but for now little guys are all about mom.

  2. It is weird, we have the opposite problem here. Dunno if it has anything to do with his Autism or not… perhaps more of a different parenting style? Kids do what works. Maybe whining works for him with his Mum?

  3. The whining definitely works on Mom. I think she may be deficient in the ‘ignore’ gene.

  4. My kids act like saints with everyone else, and then when I walk into the picture they morph into demons. It never fails.

    So I guess the answer to your question is… yes, it seems to be a common occurrence, but as for the pointers, I got nothin’. It’s frustrating as hell.

    Sorry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

