Tech Support

I’ve been on a call with verizon for over an hour now. The hold music is nightmarish. Good lord, John Mayer, I’m ready to hang myself.

Ah, a human again. He’s having me run pings against server to see if the modem is working. This is the second modem I’ve had. Of, course they won’t listen when I tell them that I work with computers and have tried all these tests already. The guy I’m talking with is nice enough, but he has to keep running back to talk with his network guys.

I had this call escalated to a routing issue a few days ago. They sent some guy who sat down at my computer and asked me, ‘How do I get a web page to reload?’ I knew we were heading for trouble then. I literally took his cell phone from him at one point so I could get things done faster. That’s when they sent the new modem. That wasn’t it, so it was back to support.

On hold…emo music. Great, now I want to hurt someone who probably already cuts himself.

Back to pings…arrrrgggghhh. Just informed him that I am NOT uninstalling my network card again. I’ve tested this on a laptop with a working card with the same results.

2:19 “Is your modem on a carpeted surface?” Bwahahahaha…idiots…*chortle*. At least I got a laugh out of all this.

Hmmm…I am impressed with the battery life on my cordless. I’m starting to wonder if I’ll ever get to post this entry. I guess I can always cut and paste the draft and save it on my USB stick. We have an actual connection to the real, live Internet at work.

Ultimately, I am posting this by copying and pasting it onto my laptop. I am also using an ‘alternate’ connection provided by the friendly and unsecured neighbors. Verizon DSL…avoid at all costs.

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

